One Of The Best Demonstrations Of Taekwondo Basics On Youtube

*Authored by White Dragon

        The following video is one of the best demonstrations of Taekwondo basics I have seen on YouTube. It is simple with proper technique and straight to the point. If WTF/Kukkiwon Taekwondo instructors had their students do more of these types of demos I feel that Taekwondo would be looked at with more respect and dignity in the Martial Arts world. Doing something like this to showcase techniques used in Taekwondo, plus hoshinsool, as well as a more free style of sparring in the Kickboxing style for a demo in my opinion would be a very effective way to keep the honor, dignity, and seriousness of this fighting system. Showcasing the sport as a side feature at a demo would also be acceptable as long as you show Taekwondo being used in a free combat style of sparring with it. I like how this video is done in a military drill style with precision to show discipline.

        The following video is one of the best demonstrations of Taekwondo basics I have seen on YouTube. It is simple with proper technique and straight to the point. If WTF/Kukkiwon Taekwondo instructors had their students do more of these types of demos I feel that Taekwondo would be looked at with more respect and dignity in the Martial Arts world. Doing something like this to showcase techniques used in Taekwondo, plus hoshinsool, as well as a more free style of sparring in the Kickboxing style for a demo in my opinion would be a very effective way to keep the honor, dignity, and seriousness of this fighting system. Showcasing the sport as a side feature at a demo would also be acceptable as long as you show Taekwondo being used in a free combat style of sparring with it. I like how this video is done in a military drill style with precision to show discipline.

Egyptian Taekwondo Federation taekwondoin doing basics

Demonstrating black belt quality for basic technique is a great way to showcase the beauty as well as effectiveness of Taekwondo when paired with demonstrations of actual use for self defense with partners and also sparring. It is a relief to find such a video that lacks the pointless music, drama, taekwondo-dance nonsense, and does not feature “gagnam style.” The lack of music and silly theatrics makes Taekwondo more serious and people can hear the snap of the dobok on each strike and the loud, and normal kiaps (not the ridiculously exaggerated kind you see at a typical demo). That to me is better than music!

There are so many cheesy, cornball Taekwondo demo videos on youtube as well as instructors who have terrible technique and look sloppy making teaching videos. Seeing students who are actually good without silly theatrics and an instructor yelling out commands like a drill sergeant gives me hope. But I don’t know anything about this group, maybe they also do cheesy demos with music. At least in this video they are not. Hopefully all who read this blog will see what I am getting at and hopefully be inspired to make more serious and hardcore demos without trying to appease the mainstream Taekwondo moms in suburbia. Those who know nothing about Martial Arts or what combat systems really are about and who think that Taekwondo is just a fun activity for kids to be babysat at that wish they were ninjas and watched Naruto way too much. Hopefully people will notice high quality and sophisticated movements which are aesthetically pleasing in themselves without the extra packaging of movie-soundtrack-action music, kpop, and the overall dorkiness of fantasy fight scenes not based in reality.

Comments
  1. MesYang88 says:

    Is it fairly normal to turn with a down block when working basic techniques? I only ask because in my style, when only practicing blocking, we turn with the block we were currently on, and I think they only did that with their high block.

    I also 100% agree with you in this one. I’d rather see high quality basics, realistic self defense, and a serious attitude then the silly, unrealistic, and low quality demos commonly put out.

    • White Dragon says:

      During my training when we prctices basics and hit the wall and had to turn around we usually did downblocks to turn around and them immediately went back into the techniques we were training. But, if we had been going back stances we would simply do the technique we were already doing and stay in back stance by turning around in the back stance. Also for high blocks we would turn around with high blocks in long front stance.

      If we did another technique such as inward knife hand strike we would turn around in a down block unless otherwise specified.

      And I think such demonstrations of basics are far more interesting that the over the top theatrics we see in Korea and the USA late.y

  2. Melody says:

    So this is the second derogatory reference I’ve seen you make about “taekwondo moms”. Tell me please, what it is about a woman having given birth that disqualifies her from learning and taking Martial Arts seriously? Why should the fact that a woman is a mother mean that she automatically is a cheery faced know nothing who merely joins junior on the mat for some “fun time” on the kick bags? While I do appreciate your efforts to raise and restore the reputation of taekwondo as well as the informative articles on this blog, you sir are out of line and have succumb to the very stereotyping that you are attempting to eradicate. And just to clarify, I am a mother of three and train 6+ hrs per week with a Kukkiwon certified school. My Grandmaster is a former Korean Olympian and the video above of the Egyptians training is how I’ve trained from day one. There is no dance in my school and the students who do not like serious training are encouraged to find another school. Do you have the same opinion of fathers or is that ok because they are men?

    • White Dragon says:

      A “Taekwondo mom” is not a mother who happens to put her kids into Taekwondo, or a mother who trains in Taekwondo. A “Taekwondo mom” is a derogatory reference to the type of mom who is much like the typical crazy “soccer moms” out there. For a reference of what a “soccer mom” is please refer to Urban Dictionary:

      http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=soccer%20mom&defid=885258

      Now apply this to “Taekwondo mom” and there you will understand the proper idea of a “Taekwondo mom” and not a “woman who has children who puts them in Taekwondo and may or may not also train in Taekwondo.” That would have made my mother a “Taekwondo mom” in the derogatory sense, but no, she was nothing even close.

      This has nothing to do with sexism so please do not get upset. They same term of “soccer mom” could possibly also refer to a father, likewise “Taekwondo dad.” Hope this clears things up. My blog is not going to be politically correct ever, so you better get used to certain terms thrown around otherwise you should just not read this blog if you are easily offended by un-PC language. And if you are, maybe you are actually the typical “Taekwondo mom” and not the positive kind. But I hope you are not.

      By the way, with the extreme popularity of Brazilian Jiujitsu and MMA, we now have “BJJ moms” and “MMA moms.”

      Taekwondo moms constantly annoy martial arts instructors about how their kid deserves to get his black belt with the other kids even if he sucks and does not train hard, or how so-and-so hit her son too hard in sparring and other annoying crap. They also love king of the demo teams and XMA and other pointless crap that ruins martial arts, much like Ballet Taekwondo performances.

      Taekwondo moms rarely ever take their kids martial arts training serious in the proper sense of actually getting good and mastering technique. It is simply a “fun activity” and besides they are going to soccer summer camp later, or doing little league baseball and will drop out in 5 months. Then later they might come back to Taekwondo and expect their kid to get their black belt anyway.

      • Melody says:

        Just so we are clear, I am not easily upset by anyone calling a spade a spade and do not cow down to the uptight politically correct crowd either. I am enjoying this Blog very much as it speaks wholeheartedly for my own attitudes towards taekwondo and it’s rather ignominious slide into the butt of every Martial Arts joke. We are on the same page, trust me, and I think you describe it
        colorfully and honestly. I respect the kind reference you made to your own mother as well. But I do believe whether intentionally or not, that some of your commentary has come off a tad bit sexist and it is my right to think so without being labeled “easily offended” or “getting upset”. Case in point, I am enjoying your missives in the adventures in boxing (I train as well) but then there was this:
        “The females there also were ridiculous and full of ego and just wanted to be one of the boys, or enjoyed hanging out with sweaty men.”. So would it be more acceptable to you if the females were there in full girly make-up and didn’t want to sweat because it would frizz their hair? In your opinion, how should a female behave while training in a sport typically accorded to men? If massive ego and excessive burly ness was your overall impression of those who trained there than the women fall completely into the norm. Why single them out and say they just want to be one of the boys and are making eye candy out of the men who train alongside them? What if you were accused of only being interested in training because of the sweaty women who train alongside you?
        I’m not accusing you of anything (sexism) and I believe your intentions are noble and warranted. If I’ve misunderstood you I apologize and will will happily shut my mouth. Meanwhile, the Blog is a breath of fresh air in an otherwise claustrophobic vaccuum of self engrandizement and commercialized self proclaimed sensei’s. I will keep reading regardless.

      • White Dragon says:

        Are you a feminist?

        Nothing I said anywhere on my blog is sexist. You are misinterpreting everything. if you actually read the boxing post you are refering to its obvious I am talking to girls who think they have to prove something, or in fact like to be near sweaty men and “one of the boys.” Not the typical woman who trains hard to learn true martial arts. Anyone who has been to an MMA gym or, heck, even a regular fitness gym in general knows exactly what type of females I am talking about. In my boxing article I also talked about the idiotic attitudes of the males as well. I think i was very fair in my assessment and I refuse to apologize or accept your accusations that I am somehow sexist.

        You are now making assumptions about me when you say I probably would rather women wear makeup and do not want to sweat. Where did you even come up with that? But yes in some instances there are actually women exactly like that, but no I do not approve of that either.

        Women and men are both equal in the martial arts. That is why we wear the same uniform in taekwondo (I do not at all approve of the female doboks they are making now or the one the guy tried to get past the WTF for TV sex appeal). My point is talking about various attitudes in people in general in the Taekwondo scene or MMA scene or whatever martial arts scene you come across.

        You are either going to love my blog or hate it. But whatever I am just glad you find something of value here and think of it as a breath of fresh air and are also sick of TKD being the butt of every martial arts joke, and hopefully see its self destructive determination to stay in that position unless new people do something about it. Which is why I started this blog, and I don’t care how many Koreans it pisses off gangnam style has got to stop.

    • White Dragon says:

      Taekwondo moms also make disruptions at tournaments, same with Taekwondo dads. Both will yell like crazy and argue with the ref and get really mad at the coach of the other kid if something does not go their way.

  3. Melody says:

    Yes, dads do the same. It’s called idiot parenting.

    • White Dragon says:

      Right. Taekwondo moms and Taekwondo dads or football moms and football dads, soccer moms and soccer dads. but in the case of this blog I will always refer to Taekwondo moms when the issue comes up and if it happens to be male, it will be Taekwondo dad. Dont complain anymore about me being sexist.

      • Melody says:

        Fair enough, I appreciate your responses sorry if I misunderstood. I hate it when people misinterpret me even after I’ve tried clarifying my position so I am entirely admitting that I misinterpreted you. It’s easy to do on a typed screen where you know nothing of the other person. No, I do not consider myself a feminist.

        To your point, we’ve had the same kinds of parents in our school. I love how my grandmaster handles it. In very broken English he says “This not dance school!, this not fun school!, you want fun, go dance! Not here!” He’s tough but it has been very effective in weeding out the hobbyists and dabblers.

      • White Dragon says:

        I wish more instructors would be like that, but the new generation of Koreans seem to think TKD is a dance style and the Korean Tiger’s are really pushing this crap. Oldschool Korean masters are dying out and the new generation of k-pop TKD b-boyz are taking over. Sucks to be a TKD instructor when this is going on because I have had people literally tell me they want nothing to do with my martial arts training bc it is TKD and TKD sucks and is not a serious style for fighting.

        Also, my comparison about women at the MMA gym was to show how a lot of hard-wannabe-type of women went to the MMA gym and were annoying, whereas the boxing gym had normal females who trained seriously and could fight in the ring and did not waste time acting like hardasses or that they have something to prove. there was a real difference between the females at the MMA place and females at the boxing place.

      • Melody says:

        Yes, I feel so fortunate and proud to train under my Grandmaster and I actually discovered him by accident since he doesn’t have any website or internet presence. He was located literally 2 minutes from my front door and I inquired about his school in particular purely out of convenience. There is nothing quite as magical as when a motivated student meets a passionate instructor. Our life now revolves around tkd and we train hard. (This is why I took offense to the tkd mom allusion but we are good, I now know to which group you are referring). So, tournament tomorrow and there will be opening ceremonies. In the past they have excluded any kind of taekwon-dance presentations. I hope that it remains so but if it is there I have no shyness in calling it as I see it.

        I’m just curious. Have you had any experience with a condition in your adolescent students called “Osgood Schlotters Disease”? We have three students including my oldest son, going through their growth spurt too quickly and have developed this painful almost crippling condition in the knees. Have you gone through it yourself?

      • White Dragon says:

        Many moms sign up their kids in Taekwondo. Man moms train in Taekwondo. But not all moms are “Taekwondo moms.” Taekwondo moms are an evil breed of enemy to Taekwondo. Beware!

      • White Dragon says:

        I think its awesome you fouind a good grandmaster. I trained under one grandmaster in Kentucky for about 2 years and he had a good hard style. Unfortunately his instructors didnt and he was very lenient on who passed promotion tests (yes everyone passed even if they sucked), but he at least taught true Taekwondo and even said it is a real combat system. His sons were really good and also masters and had their own dojangs in other areas and they taught us combative type stuff as well as sparring.
        you are lucky to find one who lives near you. My friend and co-author of this blog Grey Wolf tried to get ajob at a WTF/KKW affiliated TKD school but the Korean 7th dan master was insane and loved TKD-dance and tons of nonsense and had ridiculous working conditions for him so he quit. Its hard find good instructors who care that their students know valid self defense.

        If you go to a tournament and the demos are cheesy you know, just roll your eyes and be like “yeah whatver..” tournaments are just a sport anyway and for fun on the side of the serious art of Taekwondo. But they can be tough and painful too so do your best and defend yourself.

        What i cannot stand is when I go to a Karate or Taekwondo tournament and I perform Pyongwon in a very excellent way only to be given last place by total dorks with crap technique who turned on a stereo with techno music and screamed really loud, or acted like they were in Dragon Ball Z powering up screaming and tensing up like madmen, taking forever to complete a karate kata. It just pisses me off and I hate tournaments. I wont go to them anymore. especially if they do point fighting (light contact touch and stop karate).

        No I have never, ever heard of Osgood Schlotters Disease” that sounds difficult to deal with. How does it occur?

      • Melody says:

        Here is a link to Osgood Shlatters disease. It would be good to familiarize yourself with it’s symptoms if you have adolescent students as it is pretty common in heavy impact sports. My son can barely train at this point because of it. He will eventually grow out of it but permanent damage can occur if he pushes himself when in pain. My GM totally understands and doesn’t push him when he can’t train and instead has him coach the lower belts.

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Osgood-Schlatter_disease

        The tournament was good but small because it was “invitational” as opposed to “open”. I’m guessing this was done to weed out the riff-raff with the “kill or be killed” mindset that I saw there last year. There were no adult colored belts in the sparring division so I got owned by a seasoned competitor and respected black belt. She was great though and it was an honor to share the mat with her. Final score 3-1 so I managed to evade most of her shots and even got one in. To my great joy there was no taekwon-dance or ‘danger music’ accompanying the Form division of which I took first place. My GM doesn’t place a lot of importance on tournaments but calls them for what they are: a chance at bettering your experience in Olympic style sparring.
        The morning session was filled with young children some of which showed some promise but mostly were only Mohawk sporting recreationalists whose parents needed bragging rights because they haven’t accomplished anything else besides reaching level 9 on their video games. However, the teen age and adult session got serious and was really inspiring to watch. It was full contact and as can be expected there were some injuries but nothing life threatening or barbaric.

      • White Dragon says:

        Great! Sounds like a wonderful experience! And those taekwondo parents lol. crazy braggers.

        When you say invitiational do you mean it was only WTF sparring rules and only those gyms were invited?

        Many times open tournaments always have to allow the point karate types to come and you have to make them happy by having a point division and also musical forms. And then of course ITF TKD guys come too. But many times invitational tournaments are made by mcdojang organizations so they can brag they have all the world champions and state champions etc. Like the ATA and ITA groups who never fight anyone else and dont allow other Taekwondo groups to compete.

        That disease your son has sounds tough but its good to know he will grow out of it. I remember one of my past grandmasters sons was telling us about aerobic and anaerobic workouts and how kids should not do too much extreme workouts bc they are still growing and it will ruin their health.

        If you score on a black belt you did good. Its unfair when they have to pair you up with a black belt, especially if they show no mercy bc they have to save face by not losing to a colored belt. And winning poomsae is great and shows you have good technique!

      • Melody says:

        I don’t know to what extent other tkd organizations were excluded but the sparring division was definitely WTF rules. There were also Forms and belt color combinations that I didn’t recognize as being WTF. For example a second degree BB was wearing a black belt with green stripe. Have you seen that before? Another example was a guy who delivered punches to the head during sparring and was given a warning to cease rather than a DQ. I’m thinking he didn’t realize it wasn’t allowed so probably wasn’t a WTF student. Another guy threw a sidekick to the throat and also only received a warning.
        There wasn’t anybody there claiming any kinds of prestigious titles except for the Masters and two Grandmasters that were introduced at the beginning. There is another tournament next month and I will enter again even if my opponent will be a BB. My impression was that sure she wanted to win it but she fought clean and honorably. I felt it from her immediately. She even hugged me after we bowed out and said I did a great job. She didn’t have to do that but it showed a lot of grace on her part.

      • White Dragon says:

        Martial arts like Taekwondo do instill honor and humility and respect in students as well as encouagment. You do not get this as much in sports like boxing so much. So its good to know you are being encouraged by high ranks who dont enjoy beating you up even though they have to in the tournament…well sort of at least.

        So many schools make crazy colored belts all the time. It could mean anything. Also I bet the other forms were ITF forms called tul. We call ours poomsae they call their tul. Its basically another word for the same thing. Also originally TKD called them hyung. All 3 words mean forms.

        Anyway if a guy sidekicks the throat I bet it was an accident and not intentional. Thats why it was a warning. Its kind of hard to sidekick a persons throat and aim right in a moving fight. but the punch to head was most likely and ITF guy where they do sport karate point tag and allow face strikes.

        One time I did a WTF tournament and a guy punched me in the head and it was obvious and no one called him on it at all. it made me mad. Its because many people were ITF who were reffing the WTF rules tournament. It was not really a WTF tournament just a local one that happened to be WTF rules that day at a local YMCA.

    • White Dragon says:

      Oh ya I just remembered, one time when I was a teenager this mom came in with her son and wanted him to be good at Taekwondo but she said that she does not approve or want her son to fight or hit people. Now what the did she sign her son up for a combat sport and martial art for then? This is the kind of nonsense I refer to. And now he should not pass a promotion test without sparring. It is attitudes like hers that cause the existence of martial arts ballet to other stupid things. And the whole “light contact” karate tournaments.

  4. nester says:

    like to be best of the best in teakowndo and i’m on black belt need same helpe!!

Leave a Reply

