U.S. Special Forces Were Taught Taekwondo

        At one time in the United States military history, the special forces were taught Taekwondo and Karate. I find this fun to look into and awhile back I bought an old military combat manual reprint of the U.S. Army Special Forces Hand To Hand Combat Manual.

This manual was apparently released by the Pentagon for U.S. Army Special Forces only and contains Karate and Taekwondo techniques and a tiny bit of martial arts history as well as a list of what soldiers have to do to pass promotion tests for army martial arts instructor certification (they had to learn “kata”, but they do not teach the kata in this book only mention the names which were the Haian kata but it only mentions 1, 2, & 4 and not 3 for some reason, they also had to do a lot of free sparring). It has photos of soldiers in fatigues demonstrating movements and self defense techniques. I believe the Army created this manual after the Vietnam War or during it. I am not sure. Anyway, it is a good read and shows that Taekwondo and Karate were taken as serious fighting systems, even for killing an enemy in war. Very cool and inspired in me the oldschool hardcore nature of what Taekwondo was about when it was created and gives me a sense of pride in my martial art. This is a fun read for any serious Taekwondo lover.

Book on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1601700032/ref=rdr_ext_tmb

Comments
  1. MesYang88 says:

    Grandmaster Kim Pyung-Soo has pictures online of his US military students in Korea. I have picture of the Grandmaster/ creator of my style also with his US military students (but I’m not willing to share those pictures). I can also show you a video of Grandmaster Kim Pyung-Soo demonstrating the Pinan/Heian/Pyung Ahn forms at a military base in Korea.

    • White Dragon says:

      Very cool video. Thanks for sharing that. Were the students you talked about assigned by the US military to train in Taekwondo or were they doing it on their free time individually? The US government had soldiers learn a Taekwondo curriculum for their combatives program and this was for special forces, the green berets I believe in this manual. If you go to amazon you can see pictures of the inside.

      • MesYang88 says:

        That’s a good question. I’ve never thought about if it was required or not, because I always assumed it was. I know several people who trained with the creator of my style in Korea. They were part of the 2nd Army Infantry Division but I know a man who train under him as part of the 4th Army Infantry Division at one time as well. Grandmaster Kim Pyung-Soo’s students were part of I Corp’s of the U.S. Army and both men taught at bases in Uejung-bu, South Korea. At different times though.

      • White Dragon says:

        Well it would be cool to find out if it was the government sending the soldiers to learn from him or it was a civilian type of class.

Leave a Reply

