Heart Attack Death During Taekwondo Match

        Earlier this year a Taekwondo athlete died in the ring during a Taekwondo match he was fighting in in Egypt. The competitor of Turkish decent, named Seyithan Akbalik, age 21, did not even get kicked and in fact kicked first his opponent knocking him down. Several seconds later he collapsed. Maybe he died standing, maybe he died after he fell, who knows. It is very sad something like this can happen to such a young athlete who it has been said about him that he had promise. I have not found news on whether or not he had a previously known medical condition or not. It was actually broadcast live on TV in Egypt. Here is the video:

        It is sad this man died, but he died doing what he loved and died in the middle of battle and that is an honorable way to go. He was even winning according to my eyes and completed an axe kick to the head. He died a warrior’s death. But what a sad way to win for his opponent. That is one victory that will leave a mark on his soul if he has compassion.

        This presents the issue that any athlete, Taekwondo or not, needs to make sure they are in a good state of health and make sure they get doctor checkups. It also presents the fact that a Taekwondo (or any martial art) coach needs to pay attention to their students health and look for warning signs. Coaches also need to learn CPR/ and First Aid.

        I have taken CPR/AED/First Aid courses being a Taekwondo instructor. I have never had to use it and I am thankful so far. During my life I always had heart palpitations or flutters. I got my heart checked out during college by an expert who tested me in various ways. I was cleared and the issues with my heart were something I was born with and I have never had any serious problem and knowing my condition is safe makes me confident to train hard. People need to know their bodies and make sure they train in a way that keeps their health.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

White Dragon is a 3rd dan Taekwondo Black Belt with over 19 years experience in the Martial Arts and head instructor of the White Dragon Dojang Martial Arts Training Program. 

Comments
  1. Grey Wolf says:

    CPR/first aid is definitely a must. I am CPR/AED certified as an instructor but unfortunately am not first aid certified yet. I will do it because I want to be ready to do first aid if needed.

  2. J says:

    Wow, this seriously gave me the chills. It really just goes to show how fragile life is and how it is important to spend the time we have on the things we love and with the people we love.

Leave a comment