Interview With Master Dong-Hee Lee

 

        When you see a Taekwondo master from Korea demonstrating Taekwondo techniques from poomsae in plausible self defense maneuvers it really motivates the Taekwondo fighter in me. It pumps me up and inspires me to keep developing combat techniques and believing in Taekwondo. Master Dong-Hee Lee is such a master and I found his videos on YouTube recently. I do not believe his channel has many views and he seems to be rarely known. I want to change this and introduce him to my readers so more and more people will see his execution of techniques and fighting concepts and believe that Taekwondo is a fighting art, not simply a sport or performance art. His channel deserves a lot of views so please make sure to check it out and subscribe to his channel.

 


Dong Hee Lee self defense concepts

        I was able to interview master Lee over e-mail. He is a very approachable person and responds to messages and was excited to do this interview. Translation was difficult since I do not speak Korean and he does not speak English fluently yet, but we managed to make it work. I hope you all enjoy it and learn more about this interesting man.

 

Interview:

 

WHITE DRAGON: What’s your name? Where and when were you born? Please introduce yourself.

 

MASTER LEE: Nice to meet you, my name is Dong-hee Lee. I was born in South Korea in 1988. 

 

WHITE DRAGON: How did you get involved in martial arts and how old were you? What made you want to start training? Please list your training history and be as specific as possible. Who were your instructors in the past? Any notable characters?

 

MASTER LEE: I started Taekwondo when I was 5 years old. At that time almost every kid had to go to Taekwondo, even now. I was one of those kids, but unlike the ones who do it because they “have to,” in my case, I started training because I always had envied strength and martial arts. Even now I continue my Taekwondo training and have graduated from Kyunghee University as a Taekwondo major. In other words, I have been training for 23 years in total.
For Taekwondo, I had been taught by a world championship gold medalist teacher (sabum), under his guidance as a sparring athlete for 8 years. Also, I was a poomsae athlete and demonstration performer on the Korean Tigers demo team. 
In between, I’ve also learned Judo and Karate for a bit. After I’ve grown to be an adult I have been trained as an MMA athlete under the guidance of the best Korean Muay Thai athlete, and worldwide Muay Thai fighter Chi-Bin Im. 
Also, I’ve practiced Korea’s traditional martial art (mudo) which is called Hyeondongmu. It is a martial art that incorporates the use of ki.
Not long ago, I had also achieved the instructor certificate for Systema, which is a Russian bodyguard martial art, and Krav Maga as well, which is an Israeli bodyguard martial art. 
The person who taught me Systema in Korea was D.K Yoo (Dae-Kyeong Yoo). he had not only covered Systema but also Boxing. All sorts of Chinese martial arts and weapon martial arts which he had also taught me. 
 
WHITE DRAGON: What are your ranks, certifications or titles in martial arts? Do you have tournament titles?
 
MASTER LEE: When I was a poomsae athlete I had won a lot of gold medals. In 2006 I was nominated by the Korea Taekwondo Association as rank no.1 of poomsae out of all elementary, middle school, high school students, and adult players. 
Before in 2004 I won 1st place in the Korea Open World Poomsae Championship. 
In Taekwondo I am ranked 5th dan under the Kukkiwon and as for Systema and Krav Maga, I have obtained instructor qualifications for both. I also have Kickboxing certification of Muay Thai/K-1 Instructor from WAKO Korea. 
During my time as a martial art athlete, my record for Muay Thai was 3 victory, 1 draw with 2 KO’s out of 4 matches. 

Taekwondo victory after Muay Thai fight.

 

WHITE DRAGON: How long have you owned your school in Korea? Is it your first dojang that you have operated? Where are you located exactly? What classes do you offer?

 

MASTER LEE: I’ve entered Kyung Hee University located in South Korea in 2007 as a Taekwondo major and have graduated this year. The very first Taekwondo major that has been created.
I had made a club on actual combat and had been instructing for a few years and also let my club mates take part in games.
I currently don’t own my own dojang but I’m planning to next year.
If I get to own my dojang I would like to teach mainly adults on actual Taekwondo that can compete against any other martial arts. 

Kickboxing practice

WHITE DRAGON: Have you ever had to use Taekwondo in a real life fight or self defense situation? Have you ever been given a challenge by someone who wanted to fight you? If so how did you deal with it?

 

MASTER LEE: When I was living in South America a few years ago I ran into two black robbers. I chased them away by kicking them in the private spot. But if they had weapons it would have been hard. Luckily for me they didn’t. 
I myself am not of the personality who likes random fighting, so whenever someone tries to provoke me I usually apologize first to avoid a fight. Most situations there is almost no chance for me to get into a fight. People in Korea say that maybe it’s because I have quite a huge physique and my fierce looks. 
When I was a martial art athlete I had a lot of fights myself and most of the time Taekwondo had been a great help. Recently, I had trained a few martial art athletes and had sent them to participate in matches.

WHITE DRAGON: Why were you living in South America?

MASTER LEE: I was in Ecuador doing volunteer work for 2 years. I was teaching Taekwondo to the people there. 
 
WHITE DRAGON: Is taekwondo a dangerous system used for killing?

 

MASTER LEE: All martial arts contain the system for killing and giving great injuries to opponents. It is just as well with Taekwondo. Most people (including taekwondoin) don’t really know it, but deadly skills do exist in Taekwondo. However the purpose for all martial arts are not specifically for killing people, but defending yourself.

 

WHITE DRAGON: What was the Taekwondo scene like in Korea when you were growing up? How is training different today in most dojangs compared to then?

 

MASTER LEE: I feel that children in the recent era are really blessed. They can learn whatever they want. It was different for me when I was a kid. At that time even the internet wasn’t as well developed as it is right now. Nowadays, kids have to learn everything that they can learn. The current dojang of Korea have become more focused on physical education and recreation for kids, but I believe the trend will change to martial arts dojang for adults.
Back in the day most of the dojangs had armed us with strong training and discipline for our body and heart. But nowadays most dojangs don’t train students as it was before.

WHITE DRAGON: What is your opinion on the modern state of Taekwondo? Many feel that Taekwondo has lost much of its combative nature these days. Is it true?

MASTER LEE: I think that Taekwondo has lost a lot of its combative nature. To be exact, a lot of its nature has been latent. On the other hand, Taekwondo sparring has been developed a lot and by itself it is very combative and a very effective combat style. However, Taekwondo contains more techniques that need the application of the whole body.
If such skills become revived I believe Taekwondo will be a stronger martial art.

Dong Hee Lee

 
WHITE DRAGON: What is your opinion of the ‘taekwondo-dance trend’? The Korean Tigers really promote it and have made it popular all over the world. I would like to know your thoughts on that?

 

MASTER LEE: Adding in dance or other elements to Taekwondo can be said to be as entertainment. It is another trend to the Korean culture itself. I think the Korean Tigers had done a great job in promoting and making Taekwondo famous around the world. It is a bit sad that the actual combat style of Taekwondo couldn’t be introduced, but it is the truth that they have contributed to making the name Taekwondo as well-known as it is now. But for people who don’t really know, they may carry doubt or misunderstandings towards the sport and style itself.
Such traditional taekwondoin must put forth an effort to display this. Tony Jaa is a Thailand action movie star who was cast in the movie “The Protector” and other Muay Thai movies. He has added acrobatic moves to the martial art for movie fight scenes. Even so, nobody will say that Muay Thai is weak in actual combat. This is because Muay Thai has already been recognized for its veracity in many MMA matches. 
As for Taekwondo, its veracity hasn’t been recognized much foreignly, so by the adding of acrobatics, dance moves, and entertainment elements, such as how the Korean Tiger’s display Taekwondo, it easily produces misunderstandings of the martial art. Therefore, I think of it as a cultural aspect of Korea and we have to keep the idea of “taekwondo-dance” in such a light for what it is, but at the same time we have to focus more on the traditional values and martial art (mudo) side of Taekwondo itself.

Practicing for a demo

WHITE DRAGON: What was it like touring with the Korean Tigers? What kinds of performances did you do? How is their martial arts philosophy as a whole compared to you individually? 

MASTER LEE: I was a Korean Tiger member for 4 years. I never did Taekwondo dancing. I focused mainly on kicking such as kyuk pa and poomsae techniques. Their philosophy is just about performance art and not actual martial arts. For me, my philosophy is about martial arts and not the same as theirs. During my time with the K-Tigers I was able to visit several countries such as China, India, Qatar just to name a few. It was a fun experience but I decided I really want true martial arts and to further Taekwondo as a martial art which is different from their focus on performance art. 

WHITE DRAGON: What is your opinion on the International Taekwon-Do Federation?

 

MASTER LEE: I think the International Taekwon-Do Federation itself is a magnificent fraction of Taekwondo. Especially, the fundamentals of ‘sign wave’ is special and remarkable. 

K-Tiger’s promotional photo

WHITE DRAGON: It is said that martial arts change people’s lives. In what was has martial arts training influenced your life? What can it do for other people?

 

MASTER LEE: By strengthening your body and mind it can bring help to one’s livelihood. It gives you confidence and can let you protect yourself and the people around you. Also, it deepens the understanding of other’s pain, since pain accompanies through the process of training in a martial art. Anyhow, I believe through training it secretly influences others and gives out good influence. 

 

WHITE DRAGON: Who are some Taekwondo masters that inspire you? Also, do you have heroes in other styles of martial arts as well?

 

MASTER LEE: I respect all of my teachers who have taught me since I was inspired by all of them. They have taught me different martial arts throughout my life.

 

WHITE DRAGON: What does it take to become an instructor? What qualifications would you suggest? Do you have any tips for people wanting to start their own gyms and become full time Taekwondo teachers?

 

MASTER LEE: At first the person must have good skills. There must always be something to teach. They must also have leadership skills in order to forward the things that one wants to teach. Not just that but during the process in transmitting skills the teacher must have a personality that other people can respect. However, I currently don’t operate any dojang so it is hard for me to give any tips to other masters.

 

WHITE DRAGON: How did you get the idea to join YouTube and begin uploading videos? Do you have any specific future plans with YouTube or video production?

 

MASTER LEE: The idea of making filming a video just popped up one day so I uploaded it onto YouTube. I’m planning to keep uploading videos of my skill system of techniques and poomsae interpretations and application, etc. 
In Korea I have already uploaded through blogs and stuff, especially the response on Facebook was really good. 

 

WHITE DRAGON: How important is poomsae practice to you and your philosophy? 

 

MASTER LEE: Poomsae was a gift that was given to me. Through poomsae competitions I could ultimately increase my ego in Korea and throughout the world. However as an aspect of my philosophy it wasn’t important. It only was a great help for training to master techniques and control the body and mind.

 

A focused Lee preparing before a poomsae event back in his high school days.

 

WHITE DRAGON: Do you enjoy Olympic Taekwondo sparring?
 
MASTER LEE: After my 8 years as a Taekwondo athlete I don’t especially enjoy it any more. 

Tying a student’s glove for kickboxing training

 

WHITE DRAGON: Do you have any final shout outs, statements, or feelings to express? If so feel free to mention them!
 
MASTER LEE: Thank you for such an opportunity to give me the chance to have such an interview. I’m really grateful for your interest in me.  

*For more information on Master Dong Hee Lee you can visit his YouTube channel:
Be sure to subscribe!
And his Facebook page:
Comments
  1. dobokdude says:

    Hey good interview funny thing is I had a feeling you were going to review this guy. But yeah there is something I would like to bring up. But before I do please note I am in no way trying to metaphorically crap on your opinion. But I’m just a bit confused. Allow me to explain. In this review, Master Lee said that taekwondo dance teams have done a good job of spreading taekwondo worldwide but it is up to the more traditional taekwondoins to make sure people know it’s a combat system and not just a performance art or sport. Now I bring this up because I remember you saying kwonkicker and gingerninjatrickster are mcdojo guys because alot of the fancy kicks they do aren’t combat effective. Now one thing I had mentioned before is that GNT said in the description of one of his sampler vids is that they were only for demonstration purposes and he wouldn’t actually use techniques that flashy in a fight. And I watched kwonkickers vids and I saw him do tutorials on the spinning hammer fist and spinning backfist and jumping downward elbow strikes. I bring this up because I asked you about techniques like that and there was proof. There was proof that taekwondo had more than kicks, that it didn’t neglect the importance of hand and arm techniques. And GNT helped me figure out the spinning hook kick. In the tutorial on that he said for a quick effective version do a small jumping spin. This helped me understand how to do that move. I know he and kwonkicker do entertainment videos with martial arts which are a bit silly. But I am not sure how they are mcdojo guys. I mean if GNT is saying he wouldn’t use extremely flashy moves in a fight and kwonkicker is demonstrating taekwondos hand techniques, then how are they dorks and mcdojo guys? I mean GNT may do tricking vids but outside of that he probably also trains in joint locks throws and whatever else is in the ITF grappling syllabus. And kwonkicker probably doesn’t teach but if he does he probably also knows some grappling techniques. What I am trying to say is why do they have to be labelled as mcdojo guys just because they make entertainment videos. If that’s all they did I could better understand but the both of them have shown some pretty effective techniques. Now I’m not saying you have to be a fan of their videos or anything. I wouldn’t really say I’m a fan but I do like a bit of their stuff. I am not an ITF practitioner my school is with the WTF. I respect the ITF and like you recommended I did read another one of your articles before typing this comment. It was the one about why people don’t take taekwondo seriously. And it did help me better understand where you are coming from. I wouldn’t automatically write someone off as a mcdojo person just because they may like doing taekwondo techniques in a trickster like fashion. Because they may also know the mudo aspect of the art as well as teaching it if they are certified instructors. And I do agree about taekwondos history. It isn’t a 2000 year old combat tradition, but a successful effort to keep the tradition of Korean martial arts alive. It may have non Korean influence but it has evolved to distinguish itself from karate kung fu and other martial arts in general. I read this on a taekwondo website. So yeah I am not trying to dis you or anything I just wanted a better understanding of why GNT and kwonkicker are supposedly mcdojo guys. So yeah. Also get this. The hwarang supposedly lived by a philosophy called Hwarangdo. That means “Way of flowering manhood”. Yeah I know that does indicate some homosexuality. Also on the ATA website they say that they supplement traditional taekwondo with some other martial arts but I know it’s got to be B.S. like I said before my studio does this but it’s effective. I saw that ATA sparring video in one of your posts and I then compared it to the FULL CONTACT sparring we did at my studio recently and I thought to myself” I my school may not be perfect but at least it’s not the f@&!cking ATA”. To them I say traditional taekwondo my ass.

    • White Dragon says:

      Wow you sure write a lot!

      Yes most gyms who say “traditional Taekwondo” are full of crap. Reason is true Taekwondo already is traditional. There is no moder TKD or traditional TKD. Just TKD and a lot of fake gyms out there teaching crap like the ATA and Tiger Rock.

      Also The Korean Tigers are not a dance team. They are a demonstration and performance art team. They have in this past decades heavily incorporated dance and drama into their shows, but there are not simply a dance team. They also do kyuk pa, poomsae, hoshinsool demos etc. But mostly it is very showy and movie style fight scenes. They have extreme talent and physical ability in acrobatics and the basic movements of Taekwondo. But they do not show combat applications much or emphasize full contact fighting much. So Master Lee was not a mcdojang guy or a TKD dancer at all.

      kwonkicker and gingerninjatrickster are show off dorks who are not very high ranked. Maybe ginger is in ITF but kwonkicker was 1st dan then quit. Then he is rich so he flew to thailand and now thinks he is the ultimate badass because he fought some guy who completely sucked. Same with his buddy from fight tips who did the same thing who has 0 rank in any martial art or any fitness training certification.

      What these guys do is copy things and ideas. They hear about a spinning backfist then make a video pretending they are masters at it and teaching it to you. They simply copy and then rehash it over on their video and use special effects and editing. It impresses kids like you.

      Real masters and instructors who are qualified dont need to do that.

      Also the attitude of kwonkick is reeking with an extreme sense of self importance and arrogance. You cannot even question 1 technique or ask him to further clarify something because he will ban you automatically. He is a dork and he sucks. There are plenty of better instructionals out there just watch anything by the Kukkiwon.

      Rich kids with video equipment and high quality computers can get really popular on youtube and make adsense money by impressing high school and middle school kids who live in a lazy fantasy video game world.

      There are plenty of legitimate masters of Taekwondo and other styles who are not as popular on youtube and are 10000 times better. If you are a true martial artist seek them out like I do. That is why I interview people to show them and get more people watching legitimate masters instead of rich kids who took TKD for a few years and think they are masters and make stupid fight scenes (that are boring as heck to watch and uncreative).

      Just read my blog and watch some of my other martial arts videos. Learn something real.

      And yes any trickster or whatever can learn a spin kick or spin back fist and show it to you. Does not mean much. Do they practice poomsae and break it down and show you in depth hoshinsool? I dont think so. They are shallow.

      have a nice day.

      • Kaizer Soze says:

        The very fact that you have to badmouth other people, is not flattering . It is a big put-off when someone downgrades & mocks others, (kwonkicker gingerninjatrickster), in order to look -feel?- important. As far as copying, that’s what its about! The world over, emulates these techniques. As far as I know, you didn’t invent any worldknown styles, so be humble, and don’t be jealous if others made money and you did not. Next time BE NICE

  2. dobokdude says:

    Thanks for clearing that up. That answered some questions well. I am still learning so I did not know that about those 2 guys. Also sorry I will try to write less.

  3. dobokdude says:

    Hey WDD I will look at your stuff and the stuff of the guys you interviewed eventually. But I should probably go more into what throws for strikers talks about. Here is the description from the back of the book: “Many martial artists are now critically reevaluating the effectiveness of their chosen art. As a result, it is now more widely understood that to be a truly effective martial artist, you need to be competent at all ranges of striking systems need to be sure that they know what to do at close range in case their strikes don’t end the fight. The need for these basic grappling skills was fully understood by martial artists and boxers of the past. It is only in comparatively recent times due to the martial arts changing their focus to sport and physical development that the striking arts have neglected the close range techniques covered in this book.” Now here are some excerpts from the books:” A chain is only as strong as it’s weakest link. To be a truly effective fighter, you will need to conversant with all ranges of combat. This realisation has led strikers to learn how to grapple and grapplers to learn how to strike. However, one question that needs tr be asked is why doesn’t the art you practice already have those missing skills on its curriculum? If the original martial arts were designed for use in real combat then why are there such glaring omissions?” Here’s another: the older versions of karate and taekwondo contained throws joint locks strangles etc. Again, many of these techniques are now banned in the modern sporting versions of karate and taekwondo, and therefore very few schools will teach the grappling side of those arts.” And here’s another: Karate has also been influenced by the native okinawan art of tegumi and, to a lesser degree, the Aiki jujitsu methods of the Japanese samurai.” And here’s another:” Boxing also used to contain many grappling and throwing techniques. It is believed that boxing(and wrestling) evolved from the greek art of pankration(meaning all powerful). This art contained strikes,holds,throws, groundfighting and submissions. Greek mythology states that both Hercules and Theseus were skilled in the art of Pankration.” Here’s another: Boxing was taught as a self defense system to society gentleman. The first gloves were developed so they could practice the art without picking up bumps or bruises that weren’t befitting their status. Throwing was also considered to be an important part of the self defense side of boxing.” Here’s another: Many of the original taekwondo forms were based on the karate katas. These common forms mean that taekwondo will also have been influenced by the Okinawan and Japanese grappling and throwing techniques. While grappling isn’t a commonly practiced part of the art today, we can see that grappling techniques were a part of the systems upon which the modern art of taekwondo is based.” Here’s another: “Not only did the striking arts originally contain grappling and throwing techniques, but the grappling arts such as wrestling,judo,aikido etc originally contained striking techniques. It is only in comparatively recent times that the martial arts have narrowed their focus.” The purpose of this book is to help practitioners of the striking arts to reintroduce the throwing methods that were once a part of their system. This will allow you to practice your art as it’s founders originally intended. Here’s one more: ” One of the problems we face as modern practitioners is the mislabeling that our often attached to the techniques. For example, the cross buttocks throw appears in a number of karate forms but is almost always referred to as something like a turning lower block etc. There are many reasons for this mislabeling, but one of the main reasons is that many strikers tend to see everything as strikes, or defenses against strikes, due to their lack of exposure to other methods.” So yeah here are direct quotes from the book. The last one I put further proves the effectiveness of poomsae and people like Master Lee showing the hidden techniques in our forms. So yeah btw the authors name is Iain Abernethy. He is a Karate black belt and has written other acclaimed martial arts books and even writes for the United kingdom’s leading martial arts magazines. This book was first published in 2003. But anyway let me know what you think:)

    • White Dragon says:

      Sounds great. He is pretty much right about the Karate and Taekwondo moves. As for boxing im not so sure since I only know that boxing was always a “gentleman’s” sport and not a throwing system ever. Only street fighters did that.

  4. dobokdude says:

    Hey WDD I am back and I just got back from signing up at the taekwondo dojang and talked to the instructor. I told him about throws for strikers and my reference guide book and it went well. he even knew about the kukkiwon and Korean terminology. he is a 3rd degree like you but admitted that he doesn’t know to much about weapon defense he would never teach a student that if he didn’t know himself. he even knows that the Korean military uses taekwondo and that he adds some other martial arts to diversify the class. he said you have your taekwondo but also some escrima muay thai and jiu jutsu but he seemed kinda on page with the basic throws I said were a part of taekwondo and even said with his instructor he was taught some joint manipulation and stuff. And the blocking techniques he said those wouldn’t really work against a boxer type person but would be better against a slow puncher that or you would have to have very good hand eye coordination. So yeah I am glad I was able to talk to him and stuff what he said makes sense. and they do the sparring with the kicking punching and grappling every 2 weeks so that’s good he didn’t disagree with what I said and listened well. Now if this was the ATA or some other mcdojang chain how would the instructor react are they a cult? Would they react like kwonkicker?

    • White Dragon says:

      If it was ATA they would claim they do everything in the world and are the best Taekwondo program in the world. They c\would claim they can teach MMA and everything else since the ATA bought an MMA and grappling program from some BJJ group.

      Anyway saying he does not know anything about weapon defense, but then claiming he teaches eskrima makes no sense. Eskrima = weapons.

      Also the blocks of Taekwondo are modified to fit the combat situation. You are not going to block exactly like a form since a form is a training exercise. Also read my article about early boxing which blocks almost exactly like Taekwondo and Karate.

      Anyway just train and enjoy yourself and get as good as you can. Good luck.

  5. dobokdude says:

    P.S. when I told him about the grappling he said some traditional schools still do that. He also said another reason he incorporates some other martial arts techniques is because he has seen dojangs who only teach taekwondo and the other self defense aspects weren’t being addressed. That’s understandable and I want to master taekwondo but also learn some other martial arts techniques as well. At least he’s teaching self defense. I asked him about schools that promote quickly and don’t teach anything really useful and he said that’s why he also incorporates some weapons training boxing jiu-jutsu muay thai because he says that martial arts training needs to be well rounded. So he has the right mindset. But yeah in a past post you said the ATA has terrible sparring where the people clap when they aren’t even close to scoring yet people clapped and this is signs of a cult. I would like to know if an ATA instructor would be as open to what I had to say like this guy. I do believe you did boxing and some kickboxing. How many other martial arts do you have experience in and how have you benefited taekwondo training?

    • White Dragon says:

      So he does not know weapons defense and would never teach anything he does not know, yet he incorporates “weapons training boxing jiu-jitsu muay thai”? I dont understand.

      An ATA instructor would say anything he has to in order to get you to sign up and pay for classes. They dont care. They will just agree with you and then claim they are super good and teach everything. But they suck.

      So what , you signed up at an ATA gym? That sucks.

      Taekwondo has self defense, throws, sweeps, joint locks, and they all work in self defense situations if you have trained them. Taekwondo does not need extra martial arts in order to teach self defense. If a Taekwondo instructor teaches TKD, he should teach also Taekwondo as self defense first. Then later if you are a black belt, then teach another concept from other styles. But you dont need to since TKD has everything you need for striking and standing defense and even a few ground defenses. But obviously later training in boxing or BJJ is important too.

      My experience is mainly Taekwondo for 20 years, Kickboxing/Muay Thai/MMA for a bit, boxing for 2 months learning the fundamentals (I wrote an article on it with 5 parts explaining my experiences at a boxing gym, look it up), Judo for 3 months, running an MMA club at my university for 2 years, kali/eskrima for a few months then extra training on my own, but my expertise is Taekwondo itself and thats all I teach.

      If you want to see how good I am go to my youtube channel.

      have a nice day.

  6. dobokdude says:

    Don’t worry this is not an ATA gym its a WTF/kukkiwon school(thank god it is).When I said weapons training I meant he teaches escrima stick fighting, staff skills and nunchuks but does not know a lot about defense against guns or knives. That is what I meant. And also he does have some experience in other martial arts just the basics so his student sget a bit of everything. For example he has been doing jiu-jutsu for 3 years and knows his basics well but yes is a taekwondo 3rd degree like you. But all in all still a good school trust me it doesn’t have that ATA shit like extremely high prices,ludicrous contracts, pussy ass sparring, little kids as black belts and they don’t market what they do as karate. When I first met him he said kata and gi but like I said before he does jiu-jutsu so he probably was used to the Japanese terms but when I asked if he knew the Korean terminology he just started naming kicks in Korean. But it’s a good gym. Anyway have a nice day WDD. P.S. if I become an instructor one day I will consider a lot of the throws punches and loint locks to be a part of Taekwondo because it had those things traditionally but maybe throw in some aspects of other styles another way. But don’t worry this is not an ATA gym. The place is called Matias Martial Arts.

    • White Dragon says:

      Well great man! Sounds like you are going to a decent school. Just do what you need to do for yourself to learn.

  7. dobokdude says:

    Don’t worry I can use what I learn here to teach the real taekwondo with all aspects of combat. Also if you are interested here’s a story called ”I am the product of a Mcdojo”. look it up

  8. dobokdude says:

    Hey wdd just saw some lee dong hee vids. They were cool. Also I liked where in one of master kwons videos he performed a leg lock on his student. I always wondered what taekwondo ground fighting is like. Also I had an idea about how they can allow face punches. You see with the jab and reverse punch people are worried about bloody noses and black eyes since those would hit you directly in the face. But what if the only face punches allowed were backfists and hook punches and there was a penalty for not punching at least twice. That seems like a good place to start since those punches are more toward the side of your head. I read your article on taekwondo losing it’s touch. I mean taekwondo is supposed to mean foot fist way and there is hardly any fist in Olympic taedo. Yeah I’m calling it taedo because where’s the kwon? Also in my taekwondo reference book the authors are doing Olympic style in the sparring chapter but they are making it more realistic. First of all throughout the whole chapter they are KEEPING THEIR HANDS UP like you would in a real fight. Second they don’t do any overly fancy moves they only do spinning hook kicks, spinning back kicks, and jump roundhouse kicks as their flashiest moves. Those are quick effective aerodynamic techniques. And they do throw some punches as well. They even say sparring drills including hand techniques as well as kicks train effective reflexes for sparring. They also say that when you do things like change steps and foot work that you keep your hands in the proper guard position because you will be exposed to attack. This is the kind of attitude taekwondoins need to have. Like lee dong hee. In one of his vids he punched the mask of his sparring partners helmet clean off. Now he puts the kwon in taekwondo! I mean if these changes were made the audiences at the tournaments and Olympics would get more of a kick out of it( yes that pun was intended). Also I joined the ITF. Hail general choi. Just kidding April fools:)

  9. dobokdude says:

    Hey so yeah I do think changes should be made. I mean look at boxing. It’s a sport but I sure there are some pretty scary boxers who can do some damage in a street fight. So why can’t we make sport Taekwondo combative enough so that a taekwondoin who does sport taekwondo is pretty deadly in a street fight. It’s like how McDonalds is making kids meals healthier. First by giving less fries, then by putting in apples cutie oranges and yogurt in them. If they can do that for a happy meal, then why the f@!& can’t we make taekwondo a combative sport and martial art.

  10. dobokdude says:

    Also is taekwonwoo a legit guy to watch? And I also found fighternexas a tang soo do practicioner who has made tutorials for kicks and stuff. He looks young but is in his 20s. He isn’t like GNT or Kwonkicker where they do all kinds of flips and flashy moves. He does the jump spinning kicks that are actually practical. He doesn’t make silly ridiculous fight scenes or dress as Spiderman. LOL

    • White Dragon says:

      Taekwonwoo is a real master of Taekwondo certified by the kukkiwon. But is is a very soft spoken and reserved guy who focuses only more techniques in themselves and not really combat stuff. He also emphasises olympic sparring and not kickboxing. he has some self defense ideas but not really deep stuff. he just uses special effects and kids like it.
      He is what he is, but he isnt that aggressive. Im not really a fan but I wouldnt say he is fake.

      And I dont know anything about the TSD guy. And yes dressing up as spiderman is stupid and using it to show off taekwondo. i dont know i just wouldnt bother.

Leave a Reply

